Home > About > Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the governance, operation and strategic development of the Foundation.


Peter Batchelor

Peter Batchelor, President

Peter Batchelor enjoyed a long political career spanning 21 years as a member of the Victorian Parliament, with 11 years as a Minister in five portfolios including Minister for Victorian Communities / Community Development and Minister for Arts. Achievements in these areas included assistance to volunteers, volunteer-based organisations and social enterprises; management of the Community Support Fund; and oversight of the Arts grant program. Currently, Peter is also a non-executive Director of The Office of National Rail Safety Regulator.  Peter brings a strong background in public policy and governance to the Foundation.


Ellie Rennie, Vice President

Ellie Rennie is an Associate Professor and Principal Research Fellow in the School of Media and Communication at RMIT University. She researches media policy and community communication, with a current focus on Indigenous media and broadband adoption in remote Australia and remote Sarawak. Her books include: Life of SYN: A Story of the Digital Generation (Monash University Press, 2011); Community Media: A Global Introduction (Rowan & Littlefield, 2006); and Internet on the Outstation: The digital divide and remote Aboriginal communities (Institute of Network Cultures, 2016). Ellie commenced her involvement in the community broadcasting sector at Melbourne’s community television station in the mid 1990s.


Nathaniel Garvin

Nathaniel Garvin has held leadership roles at both Board and senior staff levels at Christian Media Australia and has managed ultra106five in Hobart and Coast FM. Nathaniel currently runs a consulting business that coaches clients in fundraising & communication.  Nathaniel brought his knowledge of software development to his role as the Chair of the Online Grants Advisory Committee. He has served on that Committee since 2009.



Luchi Santer, Treasurer

Luchi Santer has 20 years of community broadcasting experience in the Northern Territory. She has served in the Ethnic Grants Advisory Council for over 6 years and has strong community leadership, governance and financial management skills. Her involvement with a number of local and national committees has exposed her to a series of both natural disasters and international events occurring in the South East Asian region i.e. East Timor, the Philippines, the Bali bombings and the Asian Tsunami. All this was happening on Darwin’s doorstep. Luchi has completed her bachelor degree in Accounting and graduate diploma in International Financial Investment in Australia. She also holds a Political Science degree from the University of the Philippines.


Esther Pearce

Esther Pearce enjoyed a 12 year career in the Northern Territory Government achieving middle management positions. Working and living in both remote and urban areas of the Northern Territory has provided Esther with unique experiences. Qualifications in Business, Accounting and Technology and currently studying Marketing, her mantra is “Lifelong Learning for All”.  Esther is of Aboriginal descent, Central Arrernte and Wombye, and has been an advocate through community development for equality for all Australians for over 20 years. From 2012 Esther has held Directorships on several community not-for-profit organisations based in the Northern Territory.


Steve Ahern

Steve Ahern is an internationally recognised broadcasting and new media specialist, communications industry leader and management consultant.  He has written a number of publications, including Making Radio (Allen & Unwin 2000) and has worked with many stations and organisations in the industry. He was formerly Director of Radio at the Australian Film Television & Radio School (AFTRS) and is the founding editor of radio industry trade publication radioinfo.



Teresa Cleary

Teresa Cleary is a corporate lawyer with significant experience in the construction, telecommunications and multi-media sector including over a decade as Supervising Counsel at Australia’s largest multi-technology and telecommunications company, Telstra Corporation Ltd. Teresa has experience in commercial negotiations, corporate advisory, dispute resolution, contract management, commercial strategy and corporate governance.  Teresa sits on the NSW executive committee of the Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC), she holds a Professional Certificate in Commercial Arbitration from The University of Adelaide and is a certified member of the Governance Institute of Australia.


Kim Borrowdale

Kim Borrowdale is a senior communications specialist and storyteller who uses her professional and personal skills to positively contribute to communities, culture and wellbeing. Kim holds a Masters in Communications Management and has more than 15 years’ experience spanning the government, development, not-for-profit and professional services sectors. Kim has expertise managing brands, stakeholders, marketing, public relations and communications both in Australia and the United Kingdom. Kim joined the CBF Board in late 2017.


David Bartlett

David Bartlett

David Bartlett brings a wealth of finance and governance experience from the not-for-profit and government sectors and is a founding Partner of Resolve Consulting, a specialist Not for Profit Chartered Accounting and Consulting firm.  An expert in formulating strategic plans, business management, governance and executive mentoring, David is a well-respected author of ‘Community Governance’, a book sold in more than 50 countries. David also holds a Master of Education (leadership) and a Certificate 4 in Governance.